Academic Achievement
ASCC spring 2014 graduate Ms. Sola Mailo displays her Outstanding Service Learning Award, presented during the Graduate Banquet & Awards Ceremony held several days prior to the College's 60th Commencement. (Photo: J. Kneubuhl)

ASCC Graduate Banquet Celebrates Academic Achievement

May 21, 2014

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

The American Samoa Community College (ASCC) spring 2014 Graduate Banquet & Awards Ceremony, honoring the outstanding academic achievements of the spring 2014 graduates, took place several days prior to the College’s 60th Commencement last week. With Princess Auva’a of the Student Government Association acting as the evening’s MC, the Banquet & Awards Ceremony began with welcoming remarks from the ASCC Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs, Dr. Kathleen Kolhoff-Belle, who congratulated the graduates on their achievements and wished them good luck for their future activities.

The ASCC Alumni Association, represented by President Mrs. Amio Mavaega-Luvu and Vice President Mr. Evile Feleti, presented the first awards of the evening to Jessica Mele Tuiletufuga for outstanding achievement in English, to Kiri Taylor for Math, and Vaoita M. Leifi for Samoan Studies. Next, Business Department chairperson Dr. Faofua Fa’atoafe recognized Si’itupe Paul Peko as the semester’s Outstanding Business Graduate, and also presented the Business Ambassadors of ASCC (BAOA) awards to Roseanne Togia for Outstanding Service, Tala Lewis for Outstanding Character, Togasi’i Peter Peko for Outstanding Citizenship, and another award to Si’itupe Paul Peko for Outstanding Leadership.

Service Learning Coordinator Mrs. Elisapeta Faalafi-Jones recognized another Business major, Sola Mailo, as the recipient of this semester’s Outstanding Service Learning Award. Mrs. Pauline Tuitele-McFall of Community & Natural Resources presented the division’s Outstanding Student Award to Savili Mann. This semester’ Fine Arts Award was presented by chairman Kuki Tuiasosopo to Miracle Sala for achievements in Music. Mrs. Matesina Willis of the ASCC College Research Foundation announced this semester’s recipient of the Foundation Club Award as Darlene Gilreath.

Following an entertainment break by vocalists Tonya Tuigamala and Jason Hollister, Student Government Association (SGA) coordinator Maxine Tuiolemotu presented the SGA Awards to graduating members Talimeli Taufete’e (Student Representative to the Board of Higher Education), Visa Vaiau (Treasurer), Jessebeth Ropeti (Sophomore Representative) and Raela Ta’ala (also Sophomore Representative). The Trades & Technology Division, represented by instructor Mr. Adullum Esera, recognized Pene Vaisagote as this semester’s recipient of the Dean’s Award.

Usually scheduled for several days before Graduation, the Graduate Banquet & Awards Ceremony provides the graduates-to-be with a social event to mark the conclusion of their time at the College, and also with an opportunity to recognize the special achievements of the award winners. The event is organized by the ASCC Student Services Division, under the leadership of Dr. Emilia Le’i. All award recipients are determined by the respective ASCC divisions and academic departments, with the assistance of Mrs. Sifagatogo Tuitasi, Director of the Admission, Records and Financial Aid Office.