Support ASCC   Campus Directory   Campus Map   Employment Opportunities   Contact ASCC  
American Samoa Community College Logo        

Home | Student Services | Academics | Online Resources | Special Programs | About ASCC


Board Members

The board of higher education is made up of eight members.

  1. Reverend Dr. Leanavaotaua Sekuini Seva'aetasi, Board Chairperson

    Reverend Dr. Leanavaotaua Sekuini Sevaaetasi serves as the Chairperson of the Board of Higher Education and has been a member for over 20 years. Ha has been the Minister of the Congregational Christian Church of American Samoa in the village of Tula for 26 years. Reverend Dr. Sevaaetasi holds a Masters of Sacred Theology from Yale and a Doctorate of Ministry from Pacific School Religion, Berkley, California. He has been the General Secretary of the National Council of Churches in American Samoa and Secretary for Congregational Christian Church Missionary Committee for over 220 years. Currently serving as the Chairperson of the Board of Higher Education..

  2. Monsignor Viane Etuale, Vice Chairperson

    Monsignor Viane Etuale is a former teacher, principal and Director of Catholic Schools for over twenty-five years. His educational background includes Marist Brothers High School, Mamoa Theological College, Mount Angel Seminary in Portland, Oregon and the University of San Francisco where he earned a Master of Arts in Education/School Administration. He currently serves as Vicar General of the Catholic Diocese of Samoa-Pago Pago. He is also the Vice-Chairperson of the Board of Higher Education.

  3. Reverend Elder Dr. Si'ulagi Solomona Jr., Board Member

    Reverend Elder Dr. Solomona Jr. ia a former student of American Samoa Community College (ASCC), who became one of the first five students to join the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) in 1980 and served the PTK as the Vice President. He also was a member and President of the Student Government Association (SGA). Reverened Elder Dr. Solomona Jr. returned to ASCC as an Instructor and Chairman of the Social Studies Department. He is a member of the American Samoa Humanities Council and is an instructor of the AGAPE Bible College. He currently serves as the Senior Pastor of the Victory Chapel Christian Church in Pava’ia’I and holds a Doctorate in Public Administration from Golden Gate University.

  4. Dr. Moreli J. Niuatoa, Board Member

    Dr. Moreli J. Niutoa is an educator with over 25 years of teaching, administrative, and management experience. Currently, Dr. Niutoa serves as the President of the Kanana Fou Theological Seminary. He has taught in private and public schools in both American Samoa and the United States. In addition to his vast experience as a teacher and administrator, Dr. Niutoa is first and foremost a student himself. Dr. Niutoa holds an Associate of Arts degree, a Bachelor of Divinity, a Master of Arts in Religious Education and a Doctorate in Philosophy. He is currently working on a Master of Psychology degree.

  5. Dr. Anne Fuavai, Board Member

    Dr. Anne Fuavai is an Emergency Room Physician where she has practiced medicine with the distinction for over two decades. Her wide-ranging educational background includes Fa’asao High School, Seattle University, Fiji School of Medicine, University of Auckland and a Master’s in Business Administration from the University of Phoenix. A former teacher at Samoana High School, she is active in her community and is proven advocate of youth programs. Dr. Fuavai will serve for a term of two years.

  6. Senator HC Tauiliili Lauifi, Board Member

    Senator HC Tauiliili Laufi is the second returning Board member who has been on the Board for over 10 years who also currently serves as a member of the American Samoa Senate. He currently serves as the President of the U.S. Navy & U.S. Coast Guard Association of American Samoa. He also continues to serve his Church and Community as the Deacon of the Congregational Christian Church of American Samoa (CCCAS of Fitiuta & Iliili) and a member of the Village Council of Fitiuta/District of Manu’a.

  7. Talauega Dr. Samasoni Asaeli, DOE Director/Board of Higher Education Ex-Officio

    Talauega Dr. Samasoni Asaeli serves as the American Samoa Government Director of Educational and Ex-Officio to the Board of Higher Education.

  8. Mr. Isaac Misa, Student Representative

    Mr. Isaac Misa is a Junior student with the American Samoa Community College currently serves as the student representative to the Board of Higher Education. Selected by the Student Government Association (SGA) to serve a 1-year term 2020-2021. Mr. Misa is a very optimistic person who enjoys serving his community through his selection to the Board.

Contact BHE

Tiare Tupua
BHE Administrative Assistant

Telephone: 684-699-9155 x406

BHE Rulings & Actions