Support ASCC   Campus Directory   Campus Map   Employment Opportunities   Contact ASCC  
American Samoa Community College Logo        

Home | Student Services | Academics | Online Resources | Special Programs | About ASCC


ASCC Fall PTK Officer (Photo: J. Kneubuhl)

ASCC Fall PTK Officer (Photo: J. Kneubuhl)

PTK Holds Fall 2014 Induction

October 10, 2014

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

The American Samoa Community College (ASCC) chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society held its fall 2014 induction ceremony on Thursday, October 9th, at 7 p.m. in the College’s lecture hall. 20 young men and women took the oath to join the prestigious honor society, which recognizes exceptional academic achievement and makes available scholarship opportunities nationwide.

As the theme for this semester’s induction, the PTK chose “Cultivating and Empowering Minds,” and the keynote speaker was Mrs. Ursula Te’o-Martin, Exercise Physiologist with the College’s Community & Natural Resources (CNR) Division. Mrs. Te’o-Martin, an ASCC graduate and former Vice President of PTK during the early 1990s, has spent the last several years promoting physical fitness through the CNR Wellness Center and plays a key role in the ongoing Children’s Healthy Living Program.

Each semester, PTK advisors Toaiva Fiame-Tago, Evile Feleti, Anthony Felise, Kuki Tuiasosopo and honorary advisor Mrs. Evelyn Gibbs-Fruean, now Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, review the ASCC Dean’s List and other relevant data to determine which ASCC students qualify for the membership in the Society. At ASCC, PTK nominees must have taken at least 12 credits towards their respective degree programs, passed their English 150, English 151 and Math 90 classes, and have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Qualifying students receive an invitation to join PTK, and most of those invited readily accept the offer.

Accepting the invitation to become PTK membership this semester were Adolf Petaia, Bernadine L. Ott, Carl Peretania, Fa'ala'a S. Lauina, Frederick Thomas Jr., Grace Taumotoi, Jason M Maga, Jeremiah S. Fale, Jilliane Clemens, Luania L. Sula, Malaea E. McFall, Mau Brown Jr., Poutasi Seiuli, Salamasina Aumua, Sefilina Skelton. Tamarina Vollrath, Tamianna Vollrath, Tristan S. Taumua, Lapuloufitu Savelio and Zachary A. Faulkner.

The new inductees joined incumbent PTK officers Mona Chang (President), Anneliese G Haleck (Vice President), Anna Sewell (Secretary), Jane T. Lang (Treasurer), Glory Magele (PR Secretary), and members Chastity Tuiolosega, Mellody Parungo, Jee Yeon Qwendolyn Choe, Anna Iosefo, Anthony Tuiolosega, Yeseul Kang, Arona To'alepai, Toni-Marie Hollister, Siuila Uele, Patricia Tofilau, Sitivi Sitafine Jr., Miranda Galo, and Gilbert Fiaui.

With chapters at community and junior colleges across the United States and its territories, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages excellence in scholarship among associate degree students. The Greek words Phi Theta Kappa mean wisdom (Phi), aspiration (Theta) and purity (Kappa). The society bases its programs on its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. As a long-established presence on the ASCC campus, PTK members participate in campus and community events that reflect its four hallmarks.

Phi Theta Kappa provides more than $35 million worth of scholarships annually to student members nationwide. Each member is automatically nominated for inclusion in the prestigious National Dean’s List, and is also enrolled in the PTK Transfer Database, which links senior institutions across the nation offering scholarships to PTK members. For more information on the Phi Theta Kappa Honors society, visit their webpage at