Support ASCC   Campus Directory   Campus Map   Employment Opportunities   Contact ASCC  
American Samoa Community College Logo        

Home | Student Services | Academics | Online Resources | Special Programs | About ASCC


PTK Induction


ASCC Phi Theta Kappa Holds Spring 2014 Induction

February 28, 2014

By James Kneubuhl, ASCC Press Officer

The American Samoa Community College (ASCC) chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society held its spring 2014 induction ceremony on Thursday, February 27th. 19 young men and women took the oath to join the prestigious honor society, which recognizes exceptional academic achievement and makes available scholarship opportunities nationwide. For this semester’s induction ceremony theme, the PTK chose “Education: Stepping Stones to Success,” and the evening’s keynote speaker was Ms. Sophia A’asa, a spring 2012 ASCC graduate and former PTK president now working in the LBJ Finance Office.

Each semester, PTK advisors Toaiva Fiame-Tago, Evile Feleti, Anthony Felise, and Kuki Tuiasosopo, review the ASCC Dean’s List and other relevant data to determine which ASCC students qualify for the membership in the Society. At ASCC, PTK nominees must have taken at least 12 credits towards their respective degree programs, passed their English 150, English 151 and Math 90 classes, and have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.  Qualifying students receive an invitation to join PTK, and most of those invited readily accept the offer. Accepting the invitation to PTK membership this semester are Jee Yeon Q. Choe, Virginia A. Fetalaiga, Gilbert Fiaui, Miranda Galo, Annelise Haleck, Toni-Marie Hollister, Kesia Iosefa, Anna Iosefo, Jane T. Lang, Wynona Lee, Glory Magele, Jasmine T. Makiasi-Maiava, Si'itupe Paul Peko, Anna Sewell, Sitivi Sitafine Jr., Arona To'alepai, Sarona To'alepai, Patricia Tofilau and Visa V. Vaiau.

With chapters at community and junior colleges across the United States and its territories, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages excellence in scholarship among associate degree students. The Greek words Phi Theta Kappa mean wisdom (Phi), aspiration (Theta) and purity (Kappa). The society bases its programs on its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. As a long-established presence on the ASCC campus, PTK members participate in campus and community events that reflect its four hallmarks, the most recent of which was a “Pink-a-Thon” (not a typo) held earlier this month where PTK members conducted a major rubbish pickup in the area between the Mesepa sign and the Jonathan Fanene residence in Malaeimi.

“The purpose of the Pink-a-Thon, which we named after our theme of pink, was to create awareness that there is an International Honor Society in ASCC, and that we're not only focused on our studies, but we're also all about giving back to the community,” said PTK President Ms. Mona Chang. “Sometimes students become so immersed in the academic and social life that we tend to forget that our community needs us. We hope the community continues to support us in all our activities, and we also hope to find more ways to give back to our community not only as PTK members, but also as students of ASCC.”

Phi Theta Kappa provides more than $35 million worth of scholarships annually to student members nationwide. Each member is automatically nominated for inclusion in the prestigious National Dean’s List, and is also enrolled in the PTK Transfer Database, which links senior institutions across the nation offering scholarships to PTK members. For more information on the Phi Theta Kappa Honors society, visit their webpage at